Home About Project Team

Our Team

The management of the S-STEM REC was awarded to the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) through a competitive National Science Foundation (NSF) proposal process. AAAS has four partners who are leading key aspects of the REC’s work.

The Quality Education for Minorities (QEM) Network is providing connections and support to institutions that are underrepresented in the S-STEM Network, MN Associates, Inc. (MNA) is providing evaluation technical assistance support to current and prospective S-STEM awardees, American Institutes for Research (AIR) is reviewing the impact of all programs in the S-STEM portfolio, and the Center for Evaluation & Research for STEM Equity (CERSE) at the University of Washington is the REC’s external evaluator.

Team Members


Travis York

Principal Investigator

Iris R. Wagstaff

Co-Principal Investigator

Michael Feder

Co-Principal Investigator

Tara King

Center Coordinator

Jamila Blake

Project Manager

Julius Najab

Research Manager

Rachel Stivers

Senior Program Associate

Jeunice Lim

Event Operations Manager


Elisabeth (Lyzz) Davis

Principal Researcher

Joseph Taylor

Principal Researcher

Tia Clinton

Education Systems Researcher


Mercy Mugo

Executive Director
Taylor Lightner headshot.

Taylor Lightner

Research Associate and Program Coordinator


Kavita Mittapalli

Chief Executive Officer

Nina de las Alas

Senior Research Associate

External Evaluators

CERSE at the University of Washington

Daniel Mackin Freeman

Research Scientist

Marianne Kellogg

Graduate Research Assistant

Advisory Committee

Headshot of David R. Brown.

David Brown

Emeritus Professor of Chemistry

Southwestern College

Headshot of Rima Brusi.

Rima Brusi

Professor, Anthropology

Northern Arizona University

Headshot of Eddy Conroy.

Edward Conroy

Senior Advisor, Education Policy Program

New America

Headshot of Nick DiTommaso.

Nicholas DiTommaso

Technical Solutions Engineer

Epic Systems Corp.

Headshot of Caesar R. Jackson.

Caesar Jackson

Professor, Mathematics and Physics

North Carolina Central University

Headshot of Reginald McGregor.

Reginald McGregor

Vice President, Government Relations

Rolls-Royce North America, Inc.

Headshot of Yvette E. Pearson.

Yvette E. Pearson

Vice President for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

University of Texas at Dallas

Headshot of Eve Riskin.

Eve Riskin

Dean of Undergraduate Education and Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering

Stevens Institute of Technology

Headshot of Ileana Vasu.

Ileana Vasu

Professor, Mathematics

Holyoke Community College


Join the S-STEM REC Email List

Sign up to receive a monthly S-STEM REC newsletter containing resources and upcoming events!